Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Reflection on place and culture

I'm very proud of my culture as being Hispanic my parents have taught me a lot of culture and tradition . My parents were raised not the wealthiest people but have been taught that even if you don't have much whether its money to always to be honest,hardworking , and respectful . They have passed it on to me and my sisters . In a way  I have been raised to follow my culture and traditions for example the way we spend holidays it is totally different to the way someone else with a different culture spends it because culture and tradition  passes on from generation to generation I think it is something everybody should value and take respect of . A lot of our culture comes in on how we live on a daily basis what we eat and how the women in the house have to make meals for the family and the food is mostly homemade.Something I would change is equality through out hispanic families although not everybody does it but I have noticed once you are married the women always have to do the feminine jobs around the house and out side for example mostly taking care of the kids , and cooking for the husband ,cleaning, and many more that are commonly done . I would like to change the way women and men are viewed and make it more equal . I value and care very much  for my family and culture equality is something  I would change . Im very thankful to be hispanic and be able to discover more knowledge  and be a part of my culture. There is so many wonderful qualities of having a different  culture like living different than most people because I get to experience  having different foods and traditions.

About me

Hi my name is Rosalie Gonzalez I'm 15 years old and live in Fortuna Ca . Im a sophomore at Fortuna High school some of my interest have always been sports since I have been little I have played soccer and basketball,as i got older i really got interested in gymnastics although a rare sport around where i live i found a huge passion for it i started off at a late age but i was confident my hard work could get me where i wanted . I did competitive gymnastics and got to go to many meets and state ,gymnastics got me to learn hard work pays off and i grew a bond with my teammates and we became really close friends as well as my coaches. i also played volleyball as a student athlete and AAU volleyball and had become one of my favorite sports. Other than sports i enjoy spending time with my family and friends especially my sisters because i have learned many valuable lessons from them and one of my sisters has helped me out to be  successful in school as i admire her accomplishments she has done in high school and now in the University she is going to. A little bit about me is i like to keep my circle of friends small rather than big because i tend just to keep up with my close friends that are actually interested in my friendship i can be very sarcastic if you get to know me and become close to me . Also if i set my mind on something i make sure its accomplished for example how i want to do very good in school i would love to follow my sisters path she had in high school and now. My ethnicity is Hispanic although born in the United States i have been raised and surrounded by my families culture and tradition which i feel has build me to be a more diverse person.